The social skeletons in your closet – Job hunters beware!

Have you considered the implications of your social media activity on your future job prospects? Outlined in the post and according to Eric Sherman from AOL Jobs, “1 in 10 job seekers will lose a job opportunity based on their social media profiles”. Some interesting ideas here from Joshua Dye.

Is your social media profile one you’d be happy to show a potential employer? OR are you savvy with your privacy settings, ensuring they never find your history? Share your thoughts in the comments below!

Joshua Dye

Things just got a lot easier for companies to find out about your wild nights on Facebook.

While reading about some of the new updates that Facebook is implementing, I was immediately struck by the new search feature that is making every public post made on Facebook available to be searched for, subject to privacy settings. That means, unless you have kept your profile private from the first day, anything you have posted can be searched for. That potential employer is going to consider someone else when they search for your posts and see those spring break pictures from college you never took down or you might have to meet with the boss on Monday when they search for their employees and read those posts about you complaining about working on Saturday.FIRED

This just made me think about how important it is for employees and employers alike to understand the…

View original post 304 more words

2 responses to “The social skeletons in your closet – Job hunters beware!

  1. Great point. I probably have about a medium level of privacy setting on my Facebook… never the less, I recently went for a job where the recruiter openly told me they vetted applicants based on their Facebook profiles. I was shocked when they first told me this. I wasn’t sure what to think. It kind of felt like an invasion of my privacy, but in reality, I guess they are just looking my digital presence… something that is easily accessible by anyone.

    I think it will be interesting when the current younger generation, who have grown up with social media their whole lives, begin their careers. I believe younger generations have a much more comprehensive digital profile online simply because they have lived their whole lives online. In contrast their parents would have very little online information about them from their youth, simply because the internet didn’t exist then. I wonder how this will effect the way people consider their privacy in the future. Maybe hiding your history won’t be such a big concern because almost everyone has a large digital presence?

  2. Realistically and honestly I SHOULD go back and delete some pictures and statuses. I have said before I use Facebook differently now than I did 5 years ago – I’d like to think there are aren’t the crazy stupid photos (posted by either myself or others) or the overly dramatic/shocking/cursing/dumb statuses because we have matured enough to know that is not appropriate.

    I guess I am just as opinionated in real life as I am online, so anyone who didn’t like the fact that I followed or supported certain grousp or causes would find out eventually anything…maybe vetting my Facebook profile just cuts to the chase?

    Also I would like to think i am savvy with my privacy settings but seriously who can keep up?! I came across a who bunch of articles last week re new approaches to Facebook settings changes and I had no idea they had changed! It actually kind of peeves me that they can just keep switching it up without notice, leaving it to us to get a degree in Facebook privacy settings just so our work colleagues or grandma don’t see something they shouldn’t.

Leave a Reply

